People, Place, and Time

Telling my family's stories

The Muehlbauer brewery in Arnschwang, Bavaria.

http://www.brauerei-muehlbauer.de/

This is the website for the brewery that the Muehlbauer family has operated for generations in a little town in the Cham region of Bavaria (near the Bohemian forest). I believe the earliest recorded owner of the brewery was in the 13th century, and is likely the Milwaukee Muehlbauer’s direct male ancestor. The brewery was handed to another son in the family, and Joseph’s father became a farmer (the family grew hops as well as brewed them). Joseph fled Bavaria in April 1886, and settled in Milwaukee, where he operated a tavern much like the one the family had in Arnschwang.

About Hattifattener

Age: 37 Lives: All over the place. Education: PhD, linguistics, UBC.

16 comments on “The Muehlbauer brewery in Arnschwang, Bavaria.

  1. Kathy Jung
    May 2, 2015

    My maiden name is Muehlbauer. My grandfather was Joseph Muelbauer who owned the tavern in Milwaukee for 53 years. My sister and I just learned about the history of the Muehlbauer brewery in Germany. This is so exciting for us to learn about our family history. God Bless you. Kathy

    • Hattifattener
      May 4, 2015

      You’re talking about the tavern on Lake Street in downtown Milwaukee?? Joseph and Francis’ tavern? Really! Which child are you from – George or Joseph? I’m from Charlie.

      • Kathy Jung
        May 13, 2015

        My father was Joseph Muehlbauer. His middle name was George. Yes I am talking about “Muehlbauer’s Tap” which was located on Pittsburgh & Water St in Milwaukee Sad to say it is no longer there. I have the newspaper article from when Francis Muehlbauer “little Grandma” passed away. They wrote a story about the Tavern. I also have 2 awesome pictures of the Tavern. Please let me know if anyone would like a copy.

      • Hattifattener
        May 18, 2015

        Yeah I would love a copy of anything you have. I can also send you a ton of photos of the family. I have video, too, believe it or not. Of Francis.

        >

    • Katherine Muehlbauer
      May 7, 2015

      My name is Katherine Muehlbauer and my grandfather, Joseph Muehlbauer, emigrated in 1900 and settled in Kiel, WI. My aunt Leona Muehlbauer married Nicky Jung and lived in Kiel. Might we be related?

      • Katherine Muehlbauer
        May 7, 2015

        Is the tavern in Milwaukee still in operation? I visit family there and would love to stop in for a beer and conversation.

      • Hattifattener
        May 13, 2015

        No, unfortunately it isn’t. It was closed in 1958 and the building was demolished to make way for a Pittsburgh Paint factory, I believe. You can see the site – there’s a great coffee shop across the street. But the tavern is no more…

      • Hattifattener
        May 21, 2015

        It’s going to be a bit distant, unfortunately. I’ll do some looking, too – see what I can figure out! πŸ™‚ There are a couple of other Muehlbauers who came to WI who seem to be unrelated. I don’t know anything about the Kiel branch myself. So I’ll have a look-see. πŸ™‚

    • Joseph muehlbauer
      May 21, 2015

      My name is Joseph Muehlbauer my Father was George the son of George and Clara Muehlbauer ,My great grandparents were Joseph and Anna who ran the tavern with his mother Frances Muehlbauer after his Father Joseph died in 1904.(Joseph and Francis were my great great grandparents) they came here from Arnschang germany

      • Hattifattener
        May 21, 2015

        Hi! You’re from George’s group, huh? πŸ™‚ Nice to talk to you! It’d be great to hear more about your side of the family. George was the policeman, if I recall. Had a bad time because of it, ended up living on a farm up in Owen-Withee?

        Anyway, great to hear from you.

      • Hattifattener
        May 23, 2015

        If you’re on Facebook, I started a group for the Muehlbauers (children of Joseph & Frances). http://www.facebook.com/groups/muehlbauer. I’ve been posting all the pics, videos, etc., that I have. If you or anybody in your family wants to join – just send me an request on there. That would be great!

  2. Diane
    May 2, 2015

    Hello Greeting from Wisconsin. I was formerly a Muehlbauer. My Grandpa and Great Grandpa and Grandma owned the tavern in Wisconsin in the 1900’s. This is so exciting to find this information about my family history on this website.
    God Bless

    • Hattifattener
      May 4, 2015

      So you’re Joe “Suds” Muehlbauer’s grand-daughter?? πŸ™‚ I’ve been looking for this side of the family for a long time – I’m so glad you guys got in touch!

      • Joseph muehlbauer
        May 22, 2015

        Hattifattener are you Charlie’s grand child? my Dad spoke of uncle Charlie often .

      • Hattifattener
        May 23, 2015

        I’m Charlie’s great-grandson, yup. Through Robert. I’ll bet your dad DID talk about Charlie! He was quite the live-wire! πŸ™‚ We all miss him.

  3. Kathy Jung
    May 13, 2015

    Katherine I will do some research to see if we are related

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2010 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
